Rss

  • stumble
  • youtube
  • linkedin

Open letter to GreenPeace India for inaction towards NHRC complaint

green

Dear Friends of Greenpeace India

I am hereby sorry to note that MASUM, as fraternal organisation tried to raise the issue of arbitrary arrest of your activists (Akshay Gupta, Vinit Gupta, Bechan Lal Shah & Vijay S.) on 8th May 2014 night at Waidhan, Mahan by 10 policemen (uniformed) of Darhan district police. 

After our complaint, Focal Point on HRD at NHRC took cognizance and asked respective police to report. Police submitted their report. NHRC transmitted us the police report to us. We received the report in the evening of 24 April 2015. Then and there we scanned 11 pages report and sent to your email id, with a hope that you will take proper steps. 

We did not receive a single line acknowledgement from you yet.

Today we wre informed that the case (NHRC Case No. 1225/12/56/2014) had been closed due to “No response received from the complainants.” “Report sent to victims ………which has been received back undelivered”. 

Please take note that we, MASUM, never lodge complaint to any authority without fact finding. In the particular case, we trusted the source. AND it was our fault. We lost one case of attack upon HRDs. 

MASUM team
From: Kirity Roy <[email protected]>
Date: 24 April 2015 at 22:41
Subject: NHRC sent police report on arrest of Green Peace activists activists Akshay Gupta, Vinit Gupta, Bechan Lal Shah and Vijay S. Singh

 
To: greenpeace@activism.greenpeace.org, Priya Pillai <[email protected]il.com>, pucl nat <[email protected]>

Dear friends

Today evening I received an envelope from NHRC, where I found some papers (please see attachments 1 to 11).
As most of all the documents are in Hindi. it is not possible to understand. Moreover I signed the on line petition, hence not in a position to reply.
Please go through and send your version POSITIVELY by 11th May, to help us to file reply in time.
With fraternal regards
Kirity
NB = please have a look on NHRC website

Case Details of File Number: 1225/12/56/2014

Diary Number 70587
Name of the Complainant KIRITY ROY, SECRETARY (MASUM) & NATIONAL CONVERNER (PACTI)
Address BANGLAR MANABADHIKAR SURAKSHA MANCHA, 40A, BARABAGAN LANE (4TH FLOOR), BALAJI PLACE, SHIBTALA, SRIRAMPUR,
HOOGHLY , WEST BENGAL
Name of the Victim AKSHYA GUPTA,VINIT GUPTA,BECHAN LAL SAH,VIJAY & OT
Address SINGRAULI,
, MADHYA PRADESH
Place of Incident WAIDHAN, MAHAN
, MADHYA PRADESH
Date of Incident 5/8/2014
Direction issued by the Commission Shri Kirity Roy, Secretary, Banglar Manabadhikar Suraksha Mancha (MASUM) and National Convenor (PACTI) Programme Against Custodial Torture and Impunity drew the attention of the Commission towards a Blogpost by Shri Vivek Goyal dated 8.5.2014 captioned “First hand account of the activists’ arrest in Mahan”. According to the report, in the night of 8.5.2014, ten policemen in uniform and plain clothes entered into a Guest House in Waidhan, Mahan and arrested four activists, namely, Akshay Gupta, Vinit Gupta, Bechan Lal Shah and Vijay S. Singh and took them away in four separate Boleros without disclosing any reasons to unknown destination. It has further been stated that three friends of the victims named above followed the police vehicles. All of them were taken to the city office of SP in Darhan. Their friends tried to submit petition which was not allowed. They were not even allowed to enter police station. Later, they came to know all the four named above have been charged u/s 353, 186, 392 IPC. Akshay and Vineet were beaten up as they refused to sign a document. It is alleged that they are being punished and framed in false cases for protesting peacefully to protect Mahan’s forest and the rights of the people. Upon perusal, the Commission, vide proceedings dated 2.6.2014 directed to transmit a copy of the complaint to the concerned authority calling for an action taken report within four weeks. In response to this Commission’s letters dated 21.6.2014 and 20.8.2014, AIG (Complaints) in the Office of the Additional DGP (Complaints), Madhya Pradesh has forwarded a copy of the report dated 31.7.2014 received from SP, Singarauli, Madhya Pradesh. According to the report of SP, Singarauli, while proceedings relating to allotment of land to the Mahan Coal Limited were in process some persons caused obstruction and looted property. On the basis of information provided by the Forest Department, FIR No.180/2014 u/s 353/186/392 IPC was registered against Akshay Kumar Gupta, Vineet Gupta, Bechan Kumar and Vijay Kumar, Member of Green Peace from New Delhi and looted property including cash of Rs.15,000/- was recovered from their possession. They were arrested on 8.5.2014 and produced before the Court. On completion of investigation, charge-sheet had been submitted in the Court of JMFC, Singarauli, Madhya Pradesh, vide No.1331/2014 dated 21.5.2014. At present, case is pending in the Court. Registry has reported that there are three more cases registered in the Commission on the same incident. These three more cases are also linked. Before proceeding further, it would be appropriate to have comments of the complainants as well as the victims. Accordingly, a copy of the report be sent to the complainants as well as victims on their e mail id’s and by registered post for their comments, which may be had in four weeks.
Action Taken Additional Information Called for (Dated 3/30/2015 )
Status on 4/24/2015 Response from concerned authority is awaited.

Note: For further details kindly contact National Human Rights Commission, Manav Adhikar Bhawan Block-C, GPO Complex, INA, New Delhi – 110023
Tel.No. 24651330 Fax No. 24651329 E-Mail: covdnhrc[at]nic[dot]in, ionhrc[at]nic[dot]in

नोट: अन्य जानकारी हेतु कृपया संपर्क करे राष्ट्रीय मानव अधिकार आयोग, मानव अधिकार भवन, ब्लॉक-सी, जी.पी.ओ. कम्प्लेक्स, आई.एन.ए., नई दिल्ली – 110023,
फोन नं. 24651330 फैक्स नं. 24651329 ई-मेल : covdnhrc[at]nic[dot]in, ionhrc[at]nic[dot]in

Kirity Roy
Secretary
Banglar Manabadhikar Suraksha Mancha
(MASUM)
&
National Convenor (PACTI)
Programme Against Custodial Torture & Impunity
40A, Barabagan Lane (4th Floor)
Balaji Place
Shibtala
Srirampur
Hooghly
PIN- 712203
Tele-Fax – +91-33-26220843
Phone- +91-33-26220844 / 0845
e. mail : [email protected]
Web: www.masum.org.in

 

 

Related posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: