• stumble
  • youtube
  • linkedin

Sahitya Akademi protest: List of writers and artistes who returned awards over Kalburgi murder, Dadri lynching






Sahitya Akademi award returned
Uday Chopra, Nayantara Sahgal, Sarah Joseph and Ashok VajpeyiWiki Commons

Over the past one week, disgruntled and poets across the country have returned the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award to the increasing incidents of communal violence in India.

Several elite writers and poets have also resigned their posts in the 20-member General Council of the country’s top literary body, saying that they were shocked at the level of intolerance on freedom of speech and expression.

Hindi writer Uday Prakash was the first to return the prestigious award. Writer Nayantara Sahgal and poet Ashok Vajpeyi followed Prakash in protesting the murders of rationalists like MM Kalburgi, Govind Pansare and Narendra Dabholkar. They also came out against the shocking Dadri incident, in which a mob lynched a Muslim man in Greater Noida over rumours of eating and storing beef.

At least 17 authors  have returned the prestigious Akademi award, while four have resigned elite posts of the organisation.

Here is the list of litterateurs who returned their Sahitya Akademi Awards*

No Litterateur Language
1 Uday Prakash Hindi writer
2 Nayantara Sahgal Indian English writer
3 Ashok Vajpeyi Hindi poet
4 Sarah Joseph Malayalam novelist
5 Ghulam Nabi Khayal Kashmiri writer
6 Rahman Abbas Urdu novelist
7 Waryam Sandhu Punjabi writer
8 Gurbachan Singh Bhullar Punjabi writer
9 Ajmer Singh Aulakh Punjabi writer
10 Atamjit Singh Punjabi writer
11 GN Ranganatha Rao Kannada translator
12 Mangalesh Dabral Hindi writer
13 Rajesh Joshi Hindi writer
14 Ganesh Devy Gujarati writer
15 Srinath DN Kannada translator



Kumbar Veerabhadrappa

Aman Sethi

Kannada novelist

Mumbai Author

18 Rahmat Tarikere Kannada writer
19 Baldev Singh Sadaknama Punjabi novelist
2 Jaswinder Punjabi poet
21 Darshan Battar Punjabi poet
22 Surjit Patar Punjabi poet
23 Chaman Lal Punjabi translator
24 Homen Borgohain Assamese journalist
25 Mandakranta Sen Bengali poet
26 Keki N Daruwalla Indian English poet

After Punjab 18 Maharastra intelligesia joins the akademi  prote

8 more join list of disgruntled Maha intelligentsia, return awards

By Alka Dhupkar

Journalist and writer Ibrahim Afghan to return his Sahitya Akademi award, along with seven others, in protest of climate of intolerance.

The list does not include six Kannada writers who returned the State literary award on 3 October.

List of litterateurs who resigned from Sahitya Akademi posts

No Litterateur Language
1 Shashi Deshpande Kannada author
2 K Satchidanandan Malayalam poet
3 PK Parakkadvu Malayalam writer
4 Aravind Malagatti Kannada poet
Theatre artist Maya Krishna  Rao  returned the Sangeeta Natak Academi award

Related posts

Comment (1)

  1. Atul Mamtora

    These writers are giving hope of strenghth is seculer aspirations of India.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: