• stumble
  • youtube
  • linkedin

Statement by Academics, Artists and Activists – condemning attack on Shabnam Hashmi

Uphold Democratic Values and Condemn Violence against Activists

Violence, hooliganism, and disruption of the democratic process is common to all fundamentalist elements in the political sphere. Last evening some goons (a.k.a party workers) from the muslim fundamentalist Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen party attacked noted activist S.Q. Masood, who was working as an observer for the Aam Aadmi Party  at Golconda in the Karwan Assembly Constituency, Hyderabad.


Similarly, three days ago well known activist Shabnam Hashmi and Pratap Singh Negi were attacked by BJP workers in Rae Bareli, UP while distributing leaflets exposing the Gujarat development claims. The workers threatened to rape Ms. Hashmi if she did not relent. In both cases the police refused to register FIRs. These brazen acts of violence by both Hindu and Muslim fundamentalist parties, within the protective umbrella of the police, are horrifying and must be strongly condemned. These parties are breeding an inhumane culture of intolerance in the name of religion and corrupting the law and order system.These incidents provide a glimpse of the hatred, disorder and deteriorated law & order situation that will be the order of the day when these parties come into power.


In Solidarity




  1. Achin Vanaik, Academic, Delhi
  2. Ali Asghar, Hyderabad
  3. Amalendu Upadhyaya, Editor,
  4. Amar Kanwar, Fil maker, Delhi
  5. Amit Sengupta, Senior Journalist
  6. Amitabh Pandey, Delhi
  7. Anu Chenoy, Academic, JNU, Delhi
  8. Apoorvanand, Academic, Delhi University
  9. Asad Ashraf, Jamia Student’s Solidarity Forum
  10. Asad Zaidi, Writer & Publisher
  11. Ashish Awasthi, Activist, Lucknow
  12. Battini Rao,People’s Alliance for Democracy and Secularism (PADS)
  13.  Bhawna Sharma, Activist, Delhi
  14. Biju Mohan, Film maker, Kerala
  15. Dinesh Mohan, IIT Delhi
  16. Dr Neshat Quaiser, Academic, Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi
  17. Father Cedric Prakash, Prashant, Ahmedabad
  18. Harsh Kapoor (
  19. Harshita Yalamarty, Student, JNU
  20. Hasan Abdullah
  21. Hozefa Ujjaini, Ahmadabad
  22. Indu Prakash Singh, Rights Defender, NFHR & FACT
  23. Irfan Engineer, Mumbai
  24. Joe Athialy, Activist, Delhi
  25. John Dayal, Member, National Integration Council
  26. Kamal Mitra Chenoy, Academic, JNU, Delhi
  27. Kamayani Bali Mahabal, feminist and Human Rights Activist
  28. Kiran Shaheen, People’s Alliance for Democracy and Secularism (PADS)
  29. Kumar Prashant
  30. Kumar Sundaram, Anti Nuclear Activist, Delhi
  31. Lesley Esteves, Activist, New Delhi
  32. Madhuresh Kumar, NAPM
  33. Manisha Sethi, Academic, Delhi
  34. Mansi Sharma, Activist, Delhi
  35. Mohammad Imran
  36. Mukta Srivastava
  37. Nalini Taneja, Teacher, Delhi
  38. Navaid Hamid, Member, National Integration Council
  39. Niloufer Bhagwat, Mumbai
  40. Nirmalangshu Mukherji, Activist & Writer
  41. Nishat Quaisar, Jamia Millia Islamia
  42. NOMOre Campaign
  43. Ovais Sultan Khan, Social Work Professional, Delhi
  44. Persis Jinwala, Activist Ahmadabad
  45. Prasad Chacko, Activist, Ahmedabad
  46. Puneet Sharma, Director, Mumbai
  47. Purwa Bhardwaj, Independent Writer/Researcher, Delhi
  48. Rakesh Sharma, Film maker, Mumbai
  49. Ram Puniyani, All India Secular Forum, Mumbai
  50. Rituparna Borah, Delhi
  51. Rohini Hensman, Writer
  52. Runu Chakraborty Saheli Women’s Resource Centre, New Delhi
  53. Sanjay Kapoor, Editor, Hardnews
  54. Seema Mustafa, Editor, The Citizen
  55. Sehba farooqui, AIDWA
  56. Sheeba Aslam Fehmi, Activist, Writer, Delhi
  57. Shesh Narain Singh, Journalist
  58. Shree Prakash, UDFI, Indore
  59. Subhash Gatade, New Socialist Initiative
  60. Sukla Sen, Mumbai
  61. Sushovan Dhar
  62. Tanweer Fazal, Academic, JNU, Delhi
  63. Vani Subramanian, filmmaker

Related posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: