Update from the Indefinite Fast Site at Golibar Mumbai on the 7th day

  • Delegation met CEO, SRA and other concerned officers of SRA

Late in the evening yesterday on the 7th day of the Indefinite fast by Medha Patkar and Madhuri Shivkar, Sh. Nirmal Deshmukh, CEO, SRA called for a meeting with delegation from the fast site to discuss on the demands. Addl. Collector (Encroachment and Remover), Mr. Thackrey, Secretary, SRA, Mr. Milind Bohrikar, Sub-Registrar, SRA and other concerned officers from SRA (Slum Redevelopment Authority) were present during the discussion with the delegation by CEO, SRA. Sh. Chandra Shekhar, Architect joined the delegation.

  1. Discussion started from Ganesh krupa Society Redevelopment Plan. The society has already paid amount of Rs. 5.5 lakhs towards the cost of land to the Collector in 2003. As per records the land belongs to the society. The Society now demands for self development.CEO, SRA agreed in principle on this and has agreed to talk to the Chief Minister and Principal Secretary, Housing on this.

  2. CEO, SRA has agreed to the demand to stop demolition till the enquiry of the 6 societies are going on under the Principal Secretary, Housing.

  3. He has even agreed to talk to the Chief Minister and Principal Secretary, Housing on the issue of Slum Declaration and Providing civic amenities to the bastis and implementation of Rajiv Awas Yojana for 21 bastis.

The delegation has demanded to take Mandala as the Pilot project for Rajiv Awas Yojana.

Unless the decisions are given in writing, fast will continue.

Write to the Chief Minister, Principal Secretary (Housing) and CEO, SRA to give this in writing within a short time frame.

Shri Prithviraj Chavan,

Chief Minister,

Government of Maharashtra,

Mantrayala, Mumbai

Ph: 022-23634950

E-mail: [email protected],

[email protected]

Shri Debashish Chakrabarty,

Principal Secretary, Housing,

Government of Maharashtra,

Mantrayala, Mumbai

Ph: 022-22023036

E-mail: [email protected]

Nirmal Deshmukh, CEO, SRA

Mob. – 09833619010

Chandra Shekhar, Prerna Gaikwad, Aba Tandel, Ajit Gavkhedkar, Jameel Bhai, Poonam Kanaujia, Sumit Wajale, Shriram Bharadwaj, Alex, Rabia Sheikh, Sangeeta, Swadesh Pawar, Ajay Palande

Contact : 9892727063 | 9212587159 | [email protected]