The convention notes with serious concern that the law used by the British Raj to suppress
the Freedom Movement remains part of our statutes. Its egregious use against all
forms of dissent and protest including peasant activists, environmental movement, women,
dalits, adivasis, minorities highlights how the laws on Sedition [in Section 124 A of the
Indian Penal Code as well as in other Laws in operation such as S 2(O) of the Unlawful
Activities (Prevention) Act or in any state level laws such as Criminal Law Amendment Act
or its equivalent] strike at the heart of democracy by curbing freedom of expression,
assembly and association and thus undermine constitutional democracy. In the name of
curbing ‘disaffection’ towards the government or ‘disloyalty’ to the Indian State, S. 124 A of
the IPC threatens to imprison a person for life, whether such disaffection, hatred or contempt
is created by words spoken or written or by signs or visible representation.
The convention is convinced that it is the legitimate right of every citizen to express his or
her opinion, expose the misdeeds and anti-people policies of the government or to even
disapprove of, express disaffection, question and condemn the present system, and even vent
out opinions which call for transforming State and Society. The convention considers respect
for difference of opinion, perspective or view as being a vital part of our struggle for
strengthening democracy. We, therefore, call for the repeal of S 124 A of the IPC and
dropping 2(o) from the UAPA as well as similar provisions from state level laws.
In view of the documented reports from all over India about the use of the sedition law and in
light of the fact that this law is absolutely incompatible with democracy, we, the participating
human rights organisations, as also concerned citizens across the country including
teachers and academics, independent professionals from the media, medical community,
lawyers, students, social movement activists and other grass roots social and political activists
demand that the Indian parliament immediately take necessary steps to repeal sedition law in
sec. 124A IPC and dropping 2 (o) from the UAPA as well as similar provisions from the state
level laws.
All the constituents members have been campaigning against draconian laws such as AFSPA,
UAPA and others and shall continue to campaign for their repeal. As a consequence of repeal
of sedition (S 124 A IPC, S 2 (o) of UAPA 1967 and Prevention of Seditious Meetings Act
1911 and other similar laws), all persons facing prosecution for offences made under these
provisions/laws should forthwith be dropped and those languishing in prisons should
immediately be released.
The convention declares the launch of an all India campaign against sedition and other
repressive laws.
1. People’s Union for Civil Liberties (PUCL),
2. People’s Union for Democratic Rights (PUDR) Delhi,
3. Association for Protection of Democratic Rights (APDR) (WB),
4. Committee for Protection of Democratic Rights Mumbai (CPDR),
5. Human Rights Alert (Manipur),
6. National Alliance of People’s Movements (NAPM),
7. New Socialist Initiative,
8. Indian Social Action Forum (INSAF),
9. Human Rights Law Network (HRLN) ,
10. People’s Democratic Front of India (PDFI),
11. Agriculture Workers Union (Karnataka),
12. CHRI,
13. Peoples Union for Civil Rights (PUCR) (Haryana),
14. Asansol Civil Liberties Association (WB),
15. Coordination for Human Rights (COHR) (Manipur),
16. Committee for Peace and Democracy in Manipur (CPDM).

Downlaod full report here